Keep Fighting

Just like last post, this one is real & raw. I can’t put a nice Instagram filter on my life if I want it to be used for the Glory of God.

Like I said last time, I’ve been struggling & doubting. Spending time in prayer & scripture, being with people, & even doing basic things to take care of myself has been hard. I’ve been wondering why fight the depression. Why not just let it win & rule over my life?

Then I had a phone call with a close friend of mine who loves and cares about me, but they love & care about me too much to let me stay where I am.

Just the night before that phone call, I was praying, because life had gotten too overwhelming for me to handle. I had no clue how to tackle this giant in front of me and handle the mess that had become my life. I said “God just give me a game plan! Help me see what to do!” This friend that called me, literally gave me a game plan and taught me things that will help grow me in The Gospel. Am I following that game plan perfectly? No, it’s impossible to do everything perfectly and that’s something I’m still learning. I’m still learning how to rest in God’s grace & forgiveness.

However, he showed me the importance of fighting and in the Bible it’s important as well. The Christian life is compared to a fight in multiple places. Perhaps the most well known place is 1 Timothy 6:12 where Paul tells Timothy to “Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.” Paul shows Timothy the reasons to keep fighting. I’m going to go deeper into some of those and some of my own reasons for continuing to fight.

One reason to keep fighting is the eternal reward that we have in front of us. For those who are following and trusting in Jesus, we have been promised eternal life with our Savior. We will be with Him and things will actually be perfect. They won’t be tainted with sin or shame. It’s just us (the family of God) and God himself (who unites us together).

Another reason is the things and people that we have currently in our lives. No matter how bleak and how dark things may seem, there is good in your life. There has to be something good. It may be a close friend. It may be a song. It may be your family. It may be a TV show or movie. Are those things that you want to miss out on?

An outstanding reason to keep fighting is the PROMISE that God is with us even in the valley (Psalm 23:4). Even when it’s dark outside and you’re alone crying in your room, God is with you. His name is Emmanuel which means God WITH us. He’s already with you. Always.

The last reason that I’m giving and explaining (trust me there are plenty more) is the future that God has for us. God has a plan for our lives (Jeremiah 29:11). A plan for prosper, hope, and a future. Giving up on the fight doesn’t seem to fit that plan.
You see, friend, your story is not meant to be over until God ends it. Trust me, I understand the thoughts more than you know. The fight may hurt like hell. However, God uses suffering to grow us and further His Kingdom. There is a purpose for your pain. Trust me, I’ve seen it unfold in my own life, and one day, you’ll see it in yours.

What I’m trying to say is best said by Tyler Joseph of Twenty One Pilots. “Stay alive…stay alive for me.”

I’m going to end this blog post with some song lyrics from Lecrae & Tori Kelly. “Just fight a little longer my friend, it’s all worth it in the end, when you got nobody to turn to, just hold on and I’ll find you.”

Stay alive for me,
Norman

Leave a Reply

